FAE Fantasy: Human Battlemage

In September of 2016 I started making a collection of typical fantasy adventurers for Fate Accelerated Edition. I was going back to the States for my grandpa and his twin brother’s 90th birthday and have a pair of cousins who are prime RPG teaching age. My plan was to make a bunch of pre-gens, run a game for them, then give them a copy of FAE and some Fate dice as a present. I never got to run the game sadly (too much time spent “adulting” with my other relatives), but I gave them the book, the dice, and the pack of characters I made as a present before they left.

Flash forward to now, and I’m thinking about those FAE fantasy characters again. This is mostly due to the awesome paper minis created by Printable Heroes. Their recently released Umber Hulk mini is fantastic, and I started noodling around with FAE stats for it. But then I thought I should collect and post the characters I’ve previously made here on my blog, as I haven’t done much of anything here in awhile. So here’s the first of ten or so characters: a human battlemage.


Human Battlemage

High Concept: Audacious Human Battlemage
Motivation: I Must Learn To Control My Magic
Aspect: Raised In The Thornwood War Camps
Aspect: The Blood Of Dragons Runs In My Veins
Aspect: Vials And Pouches Of Spell Components

Approaches:

  • Careful: Mediocre (+0)
  • Clever: Fair (+2)
  • Flashy: Good (+3)
  • Forceful: Fair (+2)
  • Quick: Average (+1)
  • Sneaky: Mediocre (+0)

Stunts:

  • Burning Hands: Because I can hurl balls of magical fire, whenever I Flashily
    attack and succeed with style, I can give my opponent or a nearby object
    an On Fire aspect with a free invoke instead of gaining a boost.
  • Explosive Runes: Because I can scribe explosive runes on inanimate objects,
    once per scene, when I Forcefully overcome a physical obstacle by trying to
    break it, I may improve my outcome by one step. If I do, the scene gains a Flaming Debris situation aspect with no free invoke.
  • Flamecrafter: Because I can make fire do my bidding, while it is present I
    can physically attack without a weapon, and I get +2 to Cleverly create
    advantages using fire.

Refresh: 3
Stress: ▢ ▢ ▢


You can download the character as an A4-sized PDF or as a letter-sized PDF.

Audacious_Human_Battlemage_A4

The character illustration is one of the free paper minis made by Printable Heroes. The free versions are backless, but if you back the Patreon at just $1 a month you get minis with backs. For $2 a month you get access to “reskins”, and for $3 a month you get multiple color options. That’s a fantastic deal.

FAE Fantasy: Human Battlemage

One thought on “FAE Fantasy: Human Battlemage

Leave a Reply

