FAE Fantasy: Dwarven Runepriest

When making these Fate Accelerated Edition fantasy adventurers, I decided to go with fairly typical characters. Dwarven fighters, Elven mages, Halfling rogues. That sort of thing. These characters were meant to be played by my two teenaged cousins (and their dad too, probably) who had no experience with Fate or tabletop RPGs. I wanted to give them characters that would be easy to understand so they wouldn’t get confused while learning the system.

I was also using the free D&D Starter Set Heroes paper minis by Printable Heroes as illustrations on the character sheets and so tried to match the stats and aspects to the pictures. (Just as aside. I asked Printable Heroes if this was cool before releasing these, and he said it was fine so long as I stuck to using only the free paper minis.) Here’s the second of ten or so characters: a dwarven runepriest. (Full disclosure: I have no idea what a “runepriest is; it just sounds cooler than “cleric”.)


Dwarven Runepriest

High Concept: Cautious Dwarf Runepriest
Motivation: I Must Illuminate the Dark Places
Aspect: By the Will of the Forgelord
Aspect: Solid As Stone
Aspect: Dwarven-forged Heavy Plate Armor

Approaches:

  • Careful: Good (+3)
  • Clever: Average (+1)
  • Flashy: Fair (+2)
  • Forceful: Fair (+2)
  • Quick: Average (+1)
  • Sneaky: Mediocre (+0)

Stunts:

  • Defensive Fighter: Because I fight defensively, when I Carefully defend
    against a physical attack and succeed with style, I can give the attacker a
    Wide Open aspect with a free invoke instead of gaining a boost.
  • Unrelenting: Because I am relentless in my advance, whenever a trap or
    opponent attempts to create an advantage hindering my mobility, such as
    Slowed or Net Trap, I get +2 to Forcefully oppose their action.
  • Wards and Sigils: Because I can scribe runes of protection, I get +2 to
    Carefully create advantages on myself or my companions representing
    magical defense and shielding.

Refresh: 3
Stress: ▢ ▢ ▢


You can download the character as an A4-sized PDF or a letter-sized PDF.

Cautious_Dwarven_Runepriest_A4

The character illustration is one of the free paper minis made by Printable Heroes. The free versions are backless, but if you back the Patreon at just $1 a month you get minis with backs. For $2 a month you get access to “reskins”, and for $3 a month you get multiple color options. That’s a fantastic deal.

FAE Fantasy: Dwarven Runepriest

One thought on “FAE Fantasy: Dwarven Runepriest

Leave a Reply

